The Dorothy Bishop prize was created to celebrate the contributions of early career researchers working to promote open research and improve research culture. This year we are pleased to announce the three prize winners (in randomised order):

Natalie Zelenka

Natalie Zelenka is a Data Scientist at the Jean Golding Institute, University of Bristol. She supports interdisciplinary data science research across the university by creating communities, delivering training, and carrying out data science and software engineering. She also co-leads the Data Hazards project and the Data Ethics Club journal club.

” I’m thrilled to be prize-winner in such incredible company. It’s a great feeling to know that my efforts in improving research culture are visible. I’m grateful that the prize increases the incentives to do work that I think is important in doing more ethical, reproducible, and open research.”






Flavio Azevedo

Flavio is a senior researcher at the University of Cambridge’s Social Decision-Making Lab. Flavio co-founded and directs FORRT—the Framework for Open and Reproducible Research Training (— an interdisciplinary community of 700+ early career scholars integrating open science principles into higher education as well as to advance research transparency, reproducibility, rigor, and ethics through pedagogical reform.

” I am incredibly honored to accept the Dorothy Bishop UKRN award on behalf of all of us at FORRT, who have worked tirelessly to integrate open science principles into higher education and advance research transparency and reproducibility, rigor, and ethics through pedagogical reform. This recognition is a testament to this great community’s hard work, dedication, and commitment. It is my privilege to learn from all of our members every day and work with them to achieve our shared vision of a better, fairer, more justice, inclusive, and diverse open scholarship movement.”


Nicolas DeVito

Nick is a postdoctoral researcher at the Bennett Institute for Applied Data Science, University of Oxford. He studies and writes about research integrity and open science issues in the health and medical sciences. You can read his thesis on clinical trial transparency here, his research here, and check out the TrialsTracker project here.

” It’s such an honour to have received this prize given how much I admire both the organisation that sponsors it and the researcher it is named after.  I look forward to living up this award by continuing to research and advocate for more rigorous and transparent science.”





This is the second year the prize has been offered. Three prizes were offered this year, each prize consisting of a £500 voucher and Lego minifigure. We had 26 nominations, and ten shortlisted candidates. The full list can be found here.